Our mission

To explore, identify and propose innovative solutions that aim to enhance the value of underused natural resources and industrial waste through acceleration of the establishment of environmentally responsible and profitable business practices.

About us

Our expertise
at your service

Our know-how shows that we are much more than a team of researchers. We work with the aim of optimizing the value of the terroir and for the benefit of the community. It is a duty which lives in all of us and which benefits our region.

Our achievements show our know-how and demonstrate to what extent our innovative solutions improve the well-being of the community and the productivity of Quebec.

CTRI’s industrial minerals research group has developed a process to maximize the recovery of mica and silica contained in a quarry residue, paving the way for their upgrades as a range of finished products.

Development of a mica concentration process

Ore and Industrial Mineral Treatment Department

The aim of this project was to test the phytoengineering approach under the most difficult conditions for the growth of plants on waste rock dumps generating acid mine drainage, with a very steep slope and heterogeneous particle size. We offer a low-cost eco-remediation and eco-engineering solution accessible to mining companies. The concepts behind this integrated technology are: the use of pioneer native plants, organic amendments from industrial residues, the use of symbiotic microorganisms and adapted planting techniques. Based on the results, this approach was also validated on a non-generating waste rock pile.

Phytostabilization of mining sites

Applied biology and bioremediation

The contamination of soils by heavy metals as a result of various industrial activities is a widespread and difficult problem to deal with. The use of the ability of certain plants and microorganisms to extract from the soil and accumulate metals represents an interesting solution for the low-cost remediation of contaminated sites. In this project we conducted laboratory, greenhouse and field tests to determine the ability of different species to grow in the presence of contamination and to accumulate metals.

Phytoremediation of contaminated sites

Applied biology and bioremediation

CTRI's industrial minerals research group has developed a process for upgrading quarry, clays and slag residues in the manufacture of lightweight aggregates.

Development of a lightweight aggregate manufacturing process

Ore and Industrial Mineral Treatment Department

Newsletter

Stay informed of our research.
Subscribe to learn about our scientific breakthroughs.

Sorry, we couldn't find any posts. Please try a different search.

Notre mission

Explorer, identifier et proposer des solutions novatrices visant à valoriser les résidus industriels et les ressources naturelles sous-utilisées en accélérant l’implantation de pratiques d’affaires écoresponsables et profitables.

À propos

Notre expertise
à votre service

Notre savoir-faire démontre que nous sommes bien plus qu’une équipe de chercheurs. Nous œuvrons dans le but de mettre en valeur les richesses du terroir de manière optimal et au profit de la collectivité. C’est un devoir qui nous habite tous et qui profite au bénéfice de notre région.

Nos réalisations montrent notre savoir-faire et démontrent à quel point nos solutions innovantes permettent d’améliorer le bien-être de la collectivité et la productivité du Québec.

Le groupe de recherche sur les minéraux industriels du CTRI a développé un procédé permettant de maximiser la récupération du mica et de la silice contenus dans un résidu de carrière, ouvrant ainsi la voie à leurs valorisations sous la forme d’une gamme de produits finis.

Développement d'un procédé de concentration du mica

Traitement de minerais et minéraux industriels

Le but de ce projet était de tester l’approche de phyto-ingénierie dans les conditions les plus difficiles pour la croissance de plantes sur halde à stériles générateurs de drainage minier acide, avec pente très forte et granulométrie hétérogène. Nous proposons une solution d'éco-remédiation et d’éco-ingénierie à faible coût et accessible aux compagnies minières. Les concepts à la base de cette technologie intégrée sont : l’utilisation de plantes indigènes pionnières, d’amendements organiques de résidus industriels, l’utilisation de microorganismes symbiotiques et des techniques de plantation adaptées. En se basant sur les résultats, cette approche a été validée également sur une halde de stériles non-générateurs.

Phytostabilisation de sites miniers

Écologie appliquée et biorestauration

La contamination des sols par des métaux lourds suite à différentes activités industrielles est un problème répandu et difficile à traiter. L’utilisation de la capacité de certaines plantes et microorganismes à extraire du sol et accumuler les métaux représente une solution intéressante pour la remédiation à faible coût des sites contaminés. Dans ce projet nous avons menés des tests en laboratoire, en serre et sur le terrain pour déterminer la capacité de différentes espèces à pousser en présence de contamination et à accumuler les métaux.

Phytoremédiation de terrains contaminés

Écologie appliquée et biorestauration

Le groupe de recherche sur les minéraux industriels du CTRI a développé un procédé permettant la valorisation des résidus de carrières, d’argiles et de scories dans la fabrication d’agrégats légers.

Développement d'un procédé de fabrication d'agrégats légers

Traitement de minerais et minéraux industriels

Infolettre

Restez informé de nos recherches.
Abonnez-vous pour connaître nos percées scientifiques.

Actualité

Les arbres, des purificateurs d’air naturel

Par: Sandrine Cossette, B.Sc. Technicienne en biorestauration. Depuis l’ère industrielle, la pollution atmosphérique ne cesse d’augmenter. Les émissions de gaz à effet de serre sont causées principalement par la combustion de matières fossiles. Selon le …

En savoir plus